8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2009 10:22 PM by Andres Girardot

Extrude Cut failed after thickening

Andres Girardot
      I'm new to the whole surfacing modeling. I have a surface model that was thicken to convert the part into a solid model. However, I now want to do some cuts to the body but every time I used the Extrude-Cut feature SW gives me a "Rebuild Error -the feature failed to cut the body". I assume this feature can be use once the model has been thicken and become a solid model but I might be wrong. Are there any suggestions of what I did wrong or getting around the problem???

Thanks

Picture uploaded for reference
        • Extrude Cut failed after thickening
          Mark Kaiser
          Yes, you should be able to extrude cut after you thicken your surface into a part. The best way for us to try and help is if you can upload your part with the sketch you're trying to cut with. Maybe screenshots would be enough.
            Andres,

First, are you sure you have a solid body (at least one body in Solids folder in Feature Manager), second, the solid body could be corrupt, especially with it being an import - use the tools>check to validate this. Third, are there and faces on the model that are transparent - this is a sign of a corrupt body (flipped normal of face) make your display mode wireframe - are all the edges black? if not and there is a even minute blue edge/s then there's a problem with the solid.
                Andres Girardot
                Thank for the response.

Mark K. I have uploaded the file.