4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2018 3:58 AM by Artem Taturevych

Type Mismatch Exception when calling AccessSelections method

Jeremy Mitchell

Hi,

I am working through Mike Spens' book "Automating Solidworks 2017 Using Macros" and one of  the examples is consistently crashing out with a type mismatch, and I don't understand why.  The complete code is at the bottom.

Where it is crashing is on this line:

'rollback to edit the feature
              retval = featureDef.AccessSelections(part, Nothing)

featureDef is defined as type Object.  If I change it to type ExtrudeFeatureData2, the macro works as expected.

The earlier line that calls getdraftwhileextruding does not cause any problems when featureDef is defined as either type, so as near as I can tell the featureDef Object is being correctly populated by GetDefinition.

I would like to know:

What am I doing wrong?  (I'm not a programmer, and trying to learn VB.NET at the same time as the Solidworks API, so I'm sure it's something silly that I've missed.)

How can I fix it?

I should also note that I'm using 2018 with VSTA 3.0 enabled, although the same problem happens if I disable VSTA 3.0.

Thanks in advance,

Jeremy

Complete macro:

Imports SolidWorks.Interop.sldworks
      Imports SolidWorks.Interop.swconst
      Imports System.Runtime.InteropServices
      Imports System

Partial Class SolidWorksMacro
          Public Sub main()
              Dim part As ModelDoc2
              Dim MyFeature As Feature
              Dim featureDef As Object
              Dim retval As Object
              Dim message As String

part = swApp.ActiveDoc

MyFeature = part.FeatureByName("Cut-Extrude1")
              featureDef = MyFeature.GetDefinition

'get some settings from the feature
              If featureDef.getdraftwhileextruding(True) = False Then
                  message = "The selected feature has no draft" & vbCr
              End If

Select Case featureDef.getendcondition(True)