13 Replies Latest reply on Oct 22, 2018 3:53 PM by Steve Calvert

New to SW, extending parts

Steve S.

I'm new to SW and for my first project I'm designing a deck.

When you want to extend a part (in this case, a board) to another board, do you have to create a new part for the length you need, or is there a way to do it in the assy?

In my picture, I want to extend the studs up to the rafter, notching them out, and making the tops of each stud flush with the rafter.

Thanks.

• Re: New to SW, extending parts
          Albie Waterton

Steve, you should be able to do what we call 'in-context' modelling, to update those parts.

If you select the part you wish to change, then on the Assembly tab of the Command manager, you will see the option to edit component.

This will then allow you to update the part/extrusion so that its end condition meets the requirements you want.

Once you have chosen to edit the part, it will turn blue by default in the Feature Tree. Within here you will be able to update the features as you wish.

If you then edit the feature in question you will be able to edit the end conditions so that they go up to the body you want.

Hope this helps

Albie

Rob Edwards

Hi Steve

You might like to also consider using a weldment.  I find they're a nice fit for timber structures.

Structural Members in Weldments have a Trim/Extend feature available and also other advantages such as cutlists, but you would probably have to create your own custom profiles and have a play around.

2018 SOLIDWORKS Help - Weldments

Steve S.

I have been reading about weldments, and it's an attractive idea to have that cut list at the end, but like you said, not sure how much up front setup is needed.

Paul Risley

It is not that difficult, setting up weld profiles is pretty straight forward. Just use standard sizing 2 x 4 etc. Myself personally I have 1 weld profile that is configured with all of the board sizes I use on a regular basis and 1 square profile for posts.