11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 15, 2018 4:03 PM by Sam Zhang

Pipe deformation with water in it on ground

Sam Zhang

Hi,

I am new to Solidworks, and I have been struggling a whole week, to perform a simulation about pipe deformation of cross-section when it is filled with water, put on ground.

I have got some idea from this video and this video, but they are both different with my case.

My questions are:

1. How can I define "ground" or a surface to put my pipe on it? Do I have to make the other individual part (like rectangular solid) , then put pipe on it?
      2. Should I  use "Solidworks flow simulation" instead of  "Solidworks simulation"?

Thank you very much for any idea / help!

• Re: Pipe deformation with water in it on ground
          Sam Zhang

The pressure is very weird as shown on attached picture

Bill McEachern
              1. sim is the program
              2. linearly varying pressure load
              3. virtual wall contact
                  Sam Zhang

Many thanks Bill,

1. I will go with "Solidworks simulation" as your suggestion

2. For "linearly varying pressure load", I am a bit confused about it. I have done as said below, which is same as those 2 videos I mentioned in my question. Is this what you mean?

"Recommended procedure to define an hydrostatic pressure:

1. When defining hydrostatic pressure, the pressure direction should be Normal to selected faces.
                  2. The location and orientation of the Coordinate system used to define the  variable pressure is important. The best practice it to have the XZ plane lying on the surface of the fluid and  to have the Y axis pointing downward  (same direction as the gravity).
                  3. Select SI as the unit system, and make  sure the pressure unit is N/m² and not MPa.
                  4. If the above conditions are met, In the Pressure value  field, enter 0*X + 9810*Y + 0*Z

"

3. for virtual wall contact, thanks for your suggestion, I made one for my simulation.