8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 24, 2018 11:41 AM by Ben Pratt

How can I set scale of my view to work with small scale work?

Ben Pratt

Beginner here.  Two questions:

1.)  I am working in very small numbers, mils primarily.  How do I set the scale of solidworks?  Currently I have to zoom far in to see the work, and the dimensioning is tough.

2.)  when you create a new plane, how do you then change you view to look directly down on it?  I have this plane that is tilted at an angle, and I would like to just view from essentially a top view.

Thanks in advance

• Re: How can I set scale of my view to work with small scale work?
          Sameer Qureshi

Hi Ben,

By setting the scale I assume you mean setting the units? To answer your questions:

1. Change the units to mm or customise them in the Document Options (Tools > Options > Document Properties (tab) > Units). You can also use the quick toggle in the bottom right corner of the SOLIDWORKS Status bar to change this. To stop you from having to zoom in so much use the F key keyboard shortcut to zoom the screen to fit to the geometry or click the button on the heads up view bar if you see it.

Image 1: Units

Units.png

Image 2: Zoom to Fit

Zoom.png

2. In a similar fashion, when creating a sketch on a plane, use the (Ctrl+8) keyboard shortcut to go 'Normal To' which essentially looks directly at the plane you are working on. You can also get this normal to view to automatically occur when you start a new sketch, you can toggle it here.

Image 3: Auto-rotate Normal To

Autorotate.png

You can also press the SPACEBAR and bring up the View Orientation Box and choose a specific view from there.

I'd suggest searching the forums and SOLIDWORKS help files for the basic UI navigation options as it's the quickest way to find the options you are after.

Thanks,

Sameer

Ben Pratt

Sameer,

Thanks for the helpful tips.  These are all very good, and much appreciated.