4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2018 6:44 PM by Chris HB

convert multiple closed sketches to sheet metal

Chris HB

Hello,

I'm a sheet metal newbie and I'm trying to design a leaf style landing gear. I've created multiple coincident closed surfaces that I would like to "extrude" to 0.125in thickness. I know that I could have created a base flange and then made flanges coming out of that but it is inconvenient from a design standpoint. So is my workflow totally wrong? The problem some of my flanges are not rectangular and making a rectangular flange and an extruded cut seems a rather bad way of doing it, especially if I want to make changes. Thanks for your advice!

• Re: convert multiple closed sketches to sheet metal
          Dennis Bacon

I don't know what to tell you Chris... But yes, your workflow is totally wrong..  I suggest you take a look at the tutorials.. Sorry about not giving you more information about that but I'm in a certain mood at the moment  and you are using a student version. Please forgive me.. This is what I had to do to make your workflow work.

Chris HB

Hello Dennis,

With all due respect, I don't see what the objection to using a student version is. I'm a student right now and of course when I'm on an internship I just use the company's licence.

I did notice with a little searching that there are some sheet metal tutorials. Didn't realize these were available (I've done most of the other tutorials) and I will do all the tutorials related to sheet metal and hopefully it will guide me. I thought of another technique that would be to create a flange from a front view 2d sketch and do a midpoint extrusion. I could then unbend it and perhaps make by cuts with more ease to obtain the triangular. Or I could extrude each plane slightly and convert to sheet metal.