20 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2018 3:57 PM by Tom Gagnon

Toolbox or not to toolbox?

Daniel Mapp

Another one of those toolbox vs custom library threads!

I’ve just joined a new company and am tidying up the libraries in anticipation of an ePDM deployment. Small company with only 3 Solidworks users, at the moment we are using a combination of local toolbox (uncustomised) and non-toolbox parts (networked).

At the moment the toolbox is completely default, no company parts numbers etc. assigned to fasteners, we have a had a couple of issues with fasteners changing size which is something I’ve never come across as this is my first time in a place that uses the toolbox.

Moving forward I can see 2 options:

Network the toolbox and customise with part numbers for fixings that are in the toolbox. If it doesn’t exist in the SW toolbox then it goes in a secondary network location where we keep all our non-toolbox fasteners.

Leave the toolbox as is and use it to ‘publish’ models for all the fasteners we need (probably by size and configurable by length) then have one single network location for all of our fasteners.

Looking at the pros and cons of each they seems pretty even at the moment so I was wondering if anyone else has been in a similar situation and can share their experiences?

Thanks

• Re: Toolbox or not to toolbox?
          Sergio Monti

I'm in a similar situation. We are 2 SW users in the office. At the moment we use a local toolbox, that means each user picks up toolbox parts from a toolbox folder inside their own computer.

I experienced the 'change size' of fasteners sometimes. That's due to the fact that 'Toolbox' creates configurations of parts when you use it. Therefore, if a user opens a drawing where there is a toolbox part in a configuration they never used before, may be the case that it is shown as 'default' configuration.