7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2018 2:24 PM by Ryan Navarro

Progress title bar is not displaying the percentage of convergence

Wat Zeem

Hi guys i am new to solidworks Flow simulation,

I am performing natural convection, transient simulation in a closed enclosure, i understand that the progress bar shows the percentage of convergence happened, but in my case the solver has run 600 iterations but still my progress Barr is empty and no percentage and criterion is displayed. I have two heat source in closed enclosure, one volumetric and other surface heat source. i have made goals for both Maximum for Temperature.

Please help me with this guys, I have two questions on this.

- The progress percentage will be displayed automatically or is there option that i need to look in, to show the percentage coverged.

- The progress barr being empty means, my solution will not be converged and my inputs are wrong.

Any advice, suggestion will be very much appreciated. Have a nice day :-)

• Re: Progress title bar is not displaying the percentage of convergence
          Bill Dempsey

If you look at your goal plots you will get your answer.  The values are both continuing to increase so there is no convergence even started.  It is very unusual that no convergence is being seen so there might be a serious setup issue.  Do you want to post up your model?

Wat Zeem

Hi Bill Dempsey,

Thanks for your response, sorry its not possible to post my model.

I am performing natural convection transient simulation of an enclosed body with two heat sources in it, one is volumetric and other is surface heat source. for the boundary conditions, the surrounded walls are considered with ambient temperature. this is the basic set up i have done to run the simulation.

i believe that at certain time step the heat source temperature becomes constant., so i have plot goals for heat source and inside temperature of fluid. Please do correct me if i am going wrong any where.

Bill Dempsey

Hi Wat