6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 22, 2018 9:51 PM by Bill Dempsey

Simulation Flow with open DC Blowers

Tung L.

I'm fairly new to SolidWorks Simulation Flow.

I'm having trouble trying to put together a simulation flow through my heat sink using DC blower fans. I can't properly set up lids to do a boundary property with the inflow of the DC flowers and then properly set the out flow.

Can anyone suggest or guide me with the right path with this simulation?

Attached is the parts

• Re: Simulation Flow with open DC Blowers
          Bill Dempsey

I'm wondering if you still need help with this?  Can you post the Solidworks file instead of STEP?  The fan type should be set to internal and then select the inlet face and the outlet face on the fan body you have.  

If you post up a SWX file I could help you set it up but I can't with just a STEP file

Tung L.

I was able to get the simulation working as I went the "internal" simulation route. I used only the outlet of the fan and used "external inlet fan" to simulate the fans.

My only issue is that I'm trying to properly set up the Meshing without causing the simulation to run over a long period of time. Also, my "environment pressure" area keeps giving the error "Face is not laying on the boundary region between solid and fluid region".

I'm trying to push the boundary layer for my "environment pressure" as it keeps giving "vortex forming across boundary layer" warnings, but then I have a component that has some faces that doesn't need any results for.

Please give me some time to post up the SWX file as there are some material on here that can't be shown in public.

Bill Dempsey