AnsweredAssumed Answered

ROLAND / ALESIS PLASTIC TUBE FRAME TEE CLAMPS, TELESCOPING CLAMPS POSSIBLE??

Question asked by Joseph Amodeo on Jul 13, 2018

Hi all,

First of all, here's some backstory to the project...

I've been playing electronic drums for a long time and started out with a small Roland HD-3 kit (see below), their smallest model, built like a tank, quality drum pads, good drum brain, and gained many cherished memories and incorrect playing habits (lol) on this small electronic kit. Recently I began building my own custom acoustic drum set from individual parts with a very unique rolling frame on casters. I basically gave up and decided electronic drums are my favorite after all, but as a result, I had become a master of all of the standard hardware and common parts, tube diameters in the industry, master of taking apart and restoring acoustic drums etc.

roland.jpg

As a working musician, I've always found that there's really nothing on the market that suits my needs. There was one Roland portable electronic drum kit on the market that folds up into the size of an above average backpack, and can be taken in a carrying case to gigs, and unfolds to about the same size as the non-folding kit I already had been playing. Ultimately I bought this foldable drum frame and immediately had to sell it at a loss because I found that when unfolded it was nothing like the non-folding kit I already had (of the same size when unfolded) everything was horribly placed, unable to be adjusted, cymbals could not even be tightened or loosened (had no wingnut knob like every other friggin Roland kit. instead just a loose rivet) ... and I started to see clear design flaws that would have allowed it to fold up even smaller. Also I had avoided buying a similar type of thing from off-brand websites but I went with the Roland one assuming it would be the high quality they are known for... turns out this was probably their "lets make this the one kit that isn't sturdy" model. Al