9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2018 11:22 AM by Jerome De San Nicolás

Export BOM to SAP

Alexis Ster

Hi,

I am currently an intern in Bosch automotive solution in Stockport. I wanted to know if there is any plug-in or software that can convert the Solidworks BOM into an SAP Format. Thank you for your help.

Best regards,

Alexis STER

• Re: Export BOM to SAP
          Steve Calvert

Actually, I'd like to know the same for Oracle

Steve C

Dan Pihlaja

A BOM in SW is basically an excel file (at least, getting it to excel format is simple).

I did a google search and, while there is a heck of a lot of information about exporting from SAP to EXCEL, I couldn't find a single hit on how to go from EXCEL to SAP.  This probably has more to do with me not fully understanding what SAP is, but there you have it.

Marcus Wormald

You may have to convert the Excel-based BoM to a text file before importing into SAP, have a read here ..

Importing Data from a Microsoft Excel File - SAP Documentation

I don't use SAP myself so haven't tried it in the field so to speak.

Jerome De San Nicolás

Hi,

have you a PDM ?

If yes you could export BOM to .xml format, witch can be import to SAP.

I don't know how the SAP import works (we got someone here who is in charge of this) but exporting from PDM is easy.

You have to find what SAP is willing to "eat" after that cooking the file is quite easy. (event without PDM you "could" do it whit a macro)

I don't think there is a magical way to do it, all depend on the SAP configuration, is there any specific / mandatory field ?, how give the part Number (SAP, SolidWorks?) ? ....

I'm not an SAP expert, but I can help you on SolidWorks.

Check your import template in SAP, configure the export rule in PDM (or if you don't have one code a macro to export the BOM in a good formatting) then import the test file IN A TEST DATABASE !!!!

Steve Calvert