25 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2018 6:49 AM by John Stoltzfus

Motion Study (Animation) Help Required

Rob Edwards

EDIT:  Thankyou for everyones contributions.  I do not currently have the time to assess all the solutions offered, and mark one correct as I have to focus on other work now.  But I will return to this later.  Thanks again.

Hey Up!

I'm trying to produce an animation of this door opening from 0 to 95 degrees.  I'm not very experienced with motion studies but I can normally get them to work eventually.

This model I can't get close.  Even limit mates are proving a problem.

I think it's because the geometry is a bit odd with a skewed axis.

I've exhausted all my ideas!

Thanks for looking.

2016 attached.  (The assembly is the one with motion in the filename)

• Re: Motion Study (Animation) Help Required
          Piotr Szulta

Hi Rob!

if it's only about animation why don't you use Mate Controller?

could you send files via pack and go?

Piotr Szulta

then maybe sth wrong with the file. doesn't matter. try mate controller, it will be perfect for you!

SOLIDWORKS Quick Tip - Mate Controller - YouTube

if MC won't be good for you, let me know.

John Stoltzfus

Rob Edwards - I just posted here on pretty much the same mating subject..  Once you tied your mates down then the motion study is simple..

Dennis Dohogne

Rob,

I have not downloaded your files, but if you were to investigate the mate controller you should be able to start out with the door closed and then have it move to your open position within a given time frame.  If your assembly moves by just dragging the door then you can tell the mate controller to move the door from 0 degrees to 95 degrees.  You can also adjust the time scale you can make this happen in whatever length of time you desire.