4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2018 7:57 AM by Erik Bilello

How would I call out this tack weld?

James Baseman-Blevins

I'm creating a drawing for manufacturing and we are tack welding the bottom of a pin that we are pressing into a hole. The tack welds need to be equally spaced (3x). This is my first time using the weld features, just an fyi

• Re: How would I call out this tack weld?
          Neville Williams

Insert /Annotations/Weld Sybol

This is ANSI symbol but ISO is also same

Neville Williams

OR

I know it's not a fillet weld but I'm sure the fabricator would get the idea...

Erik Bilello

James,

I'm quite sure Kevin is correct (no need to yell about it Kevin) that there isn't an official tack weld symbol (unless it's been added recently).  Technically a tack weld is only used to position parts before the "real" weld is made.  It should be small enough that it can be easily broken or removed in the event the parts need to be repositioned. Depending on what you're welding it may be permissible to weld over tacks, but it is often required that they be ground or chiseled off and replaced with a weld of specified penetration and size.

The purpose of the weld symbol is to specify the type, size and location of welds on the finished part. The codes you might need to meet will often determine if, and how, tacks can be used. If not, you might use additional notes to specify where and how they may (or may not) be used.

So, it doesn't look to me like you're specifying a tack weld.  Unless the only reason for the welds is to keep the pin in place while additional manufacturing steps are made they are not tack welds.  If, after whatever you're making is completed, it would still function if the welds were removed, then they are tack welds, whether you remove them or not.