11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2018 9:35 PM by Cary McLaughlin

Minimize Sketch Geometry?

Cary McLaughlin

Is it considered best practice to use as little sketch geometry as possible?  For example, when designing a simple, square plate, should you use an Extrude Thin instead of a traditional 4 sided square?  What are the advantages/disadvantages?  I've tried using Extrude Thin to define my simple plates (usually just one part of a weldment) but they are always rejected as "that's not how you do that."

• Re: Minimize Sketch Geometry?
          John Stoltzfus

Cary McLaughlin -

Could you please explain how long you used SW? and who is rejecting the models, your Boss or your Instructor?

Cary McLaughlin

I've been using SolidWorks for 6 years but I'm using it in a different environment now.  I should have chosen my words more carefully.  When I say "reject" I simply mean it isn't a  preferred method by co-workers.  I didn't see any obvious downsides to using the feature based on how I use SolidWorks so I was trying to ask if anyone else had experienced any disadvantages while using it.  Thanks for taking the time to respond.

Jim Steinmeyer

It depends on who is doing the rejecting. You will see ALL of the VARs and SW guys doing a quick extrude and pulling the arrows for depth when they do a "Show & Tell" to impress the boss and get the sale. Then when you start working on those  and items made with those methods, you find that your sketches are unconstrained and likely to cause problems down the road.

Is it possible that the person doing the rejecting is rejecting something like unconstrained sketches and not giving you the full reason for the rejection?