4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2018 1:02 PM by Amen Allah Jlili

C# Capabilities

Zach Ahern

I'm an intern at an engineering company and my TLDR is basically this:

I'm trying to save the company money by taking away projects from our overworked machinist and 3D printing the parts instead. The issue I have is when I'm gone, there going to have to pay a full time engineer or CAD technician to model these parts which just won't happen. I was wondering if I could make a sort of automated system that will cut the time down to model to be hardly an inconvenience. 

The issue is I know nothing about C# (really only have arduino and matlab experience), but it seems like the software to do the trick. All I want it to do is carry out several features already is solidworks. I've attached a short slideshow walking through the best case scenario of what I want it to do.

Should C# do the trick? Is it worth learning completely from scratch? Can I learn the language and do what I want it to in a month and a half? What in my plan is unrealistic or impossible?

Any insight would help a ton!

• Re: C# Capabilities
          Josh Brady

If you have never used C# or VBA before, this would be extremely ambitious to create within a month and a half, especially if you have any other tasks at all.  If you decide to bite it off, I'd recommend the learning resources at cadsharp.com. 

Andrew Schutte

Zach,

I think if what you are trying to do is possible, it can be done with C#. The limitations will be the SOLIDWORKS API's, collecting enough definition and automating your steps. Writing code against a 3D model where (virtually) nothing will be the same from part to part is very difficult.

Specific to C#, I would plan on a year or two to learn it (or any language) with enough proficiency to even start on a project like this. What you are asking is not simple and if possible would be very complex.