9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2018 2:44 PM by Kevin Chandler

DWG/DXF File Mapping Cheat Sheet?

Jim Moses

Hi all,

I am kind of new to setting up mapping files and trying to figure out a few things and wonder if there was a basic cheat sheet on what meant what in each program so to speak

Like the line type styles as I can set things to go to Centerline and Centerlinex2 by either choosing the Centerline/Construction

Here is a list I have been able to come up with, but not sure on how to create a Phantom or PhantomX2 linetype also how do I get a Continuous as once I changed a few and now it will not give me the option on the list:

I have tried the help files, but still leaves me asking a lot hence the posting

Regards,

• Re: DWG/DXF File Mapping Cheat Sheet?
          Jim Moses

Hi again,

This is what I have come up with so far based on trial and error, how do I get a Phantom line type?

Regards,

Britt Kessler

Jim Moses wrote:

Hi again,

This is what I have come up with so far based on trial and error, how do I get a Phantom line type?

It might help if you tell us what you're trying to do. Are you trying to import .DXF files or to export them?

Jim Moses

Hi,

I am attempting to export them, the Autocad standards they use here are funky bright colors that you cant read in Solidworks with a white background. So I am trying to get them something the Solidworks users can see and use and then have it convert to there normal standards or as close as I can.

Phantom I would like for a few obvious reasons, if I want a phantom line I don't want a centerlinex2 once it converts which is my only option unless I get a answer here or from our VAR, the other is for a envelope as once you convert it sees it as an entity and turns it to the object layer. then is very time consuming to convert manually.

Regards,

David Matula

why are you doing all of that?

your converting an assembly drawing to a dxf for what purpose?

click on style there and pick phantom.