7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 3, 2018 5:37 PM by Ryan Dark

FEA Iterative Solver Stopped

Afshin Zahraee

Hi,

I am a graduate student who hasn't worked too much with SolidWorks and am attempting an assembly to perform a FEA. When I used SAP2000, my advising professor wasn't too happy with the graphics despite some semblance of results.

With SolidWorks, I have created a nice assembly and fixed all the meshing errors but have a failure in fixtures as the study failed to run. Eventually I need to put more complicated loading on, but I put simple loading just to make sure my geometry was ok. Unforutnately, it is not.

I have been stuck on this problem now for a week and figured it would be a good idea to ask the community for help. It would be so appreciated as I realize this could be a mess of a file but I have no one here to help me for a project I have to take on in the next month or so on my own. I have attached all files.

• Re: FEA Iterative Solver Stopped
          Ryan Dark

Hi Afshin,

Your model was a little more difficult than unstable studies tend to be.  In the end, in order to find a stable setup I had to start with the base, and start including attaching pieces one at a time.  Each time I added a piece I made a specific Bonded Contact Set to attach the pieces onto the last one then re-run the study to test it to see if it would solve.  Eventually I was able to get the entire model built up to include all bodies but I did need to 1) put a Bonded Contact Set between all interacting bodies and 2) turn on 'Use soft springs to stabilize model' under the study 'Properties'.  The end result was this:

Afshin Zahraee

Hi Ryan,