11 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2018 5:45 PM by Nelson Lopes

Cylinder with base

Nelson Lopes

I'm still very new to SolidWorks and need some assistance on how to create a part.  I need to create a cylinder that has one end closed (capped).  I am able to create a cylinder by drawing two circles of the correct radius and then doing an extrude to the correct length.  However, this makes a completely hollow cylinder and doesn't leave one end of it solid.  I'd need to leave one end about 2mm thick (solid).  How do I do this when doing an extrude?

The next part is I need to create 2 slits in the cylinder about .5mm wide from the open end down about 10mm.

Here is a picture of what I'm trying to achieve (only this one is slightly larger than what I want to design).

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1675311

Any help and examples would be greatly appreciated!

Kind Regards,

Nelson

• Re: Cylinder with base
          Casey Bergman

I would extrude the hollow section like you have done and then close in one end using another extrude.  There are a lot of ways to model a part like this, you could start by extruding a solid and extrude cut the section out that you want as well.

Dan Pihlaja

I would use the shell command.

See attached video.

Glenn Schroeder

Dan Pihlaja wrote:

See attached video.

Dan,

I thought of that too, but the OP didn't say the wall thickness was the same as the base thickness. I don't think I've used the Shell command twice in the ten years I've been using SW.   If they're different will Shell still work?

Glenn

Dan Pihlaja

Glenn Schroeder  wrote:

Dan Pihlaja wrote:

See attached video.

Dan,

I thought of that too, but the OP didn't say the wall thickness was the same as the base thickness. I don't think I've used the Shell command twice in the ten years I've been using SW. If they're different will Shell still work?

Glenn

Short answer....yes

Longer answer:  Check out the attached video on multi thickness shell.

Glenn Schroeder