3 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2018 9:05 PM by Hares Fakoor

VB Event Handler for DWG 'skip file' dialog box

Hares Fakoor

I'm trying to create a batch tiffer for dwgs in VS, using .NET

The drawings will be opened with a edrawings API ~

that being said I don't need to combine anything (assemblies etc..) I just need to print each individual document ~

However since this is a batch printing thing I'm trying to do, I'm wondering if there is an event handler for the dwg 'skip file' dialog box that sometimes pops up ~ otherwise it hangs here and the program basically freezes ~ any ideas to get around this? Is there a .NET/VB event handler part of CAD VB libraries that can pick up on this dialog box?

• Re: VB Event Handler for DWG 'skip file' dialog box
          Hares Fakoor

Any ideas are welcome ~ currently I'm thinking of a clockout time on the doc, to where if it doesn't print in x minutes to skip the file

Ulf Stockburger

Hi Hares

I have no experience with the eDrawings API, so I can't answer your question about the event handler. However, with WinAPI you can search for windows and send messages to them. If the dialog you are looking for has a unique name or is not opened by any other application, I would use this approach.

// C#
            using System;
            using System.Runtime.InteropServices;
            using System.Threading;
            namespace Test
            {
                class Program
                {
                    [DllImport("user32.dll", SetLastError = true, CharSet = CharSet.Auto)]
                    private static extern IntPtr FindWindow(string lpClassName, string lpWindowName);
                    [DllImport("user32.dll", SetLastError = true, CharSet = CharSet.Auto)]
                    private static extern int SendMessage(IntPtr hwnd, int wMsg, int wParam, int lParam);
                    static void Main(string[] args)
                    {
                        IntPtr hWnd = IntPtr.Zero;