11 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2018 9:06 AM by Dan Pihlaja

make sketch from selected feature

Brian Sanner

I am not knew to creating parts and assemblies, but I am somewhat new to making drawings, at least more than just plopping down my views and hitting print.

I made a sketch that had areas I did not want to show in a drawing and found I could only hide or delete entire sketches, not lines within the sketch. I decided to use the "make a sketch from selected feature" and then turned the selected segments for construction, thinking I was a genius and my new sketch would be well defined and coincident with my construction lines.

It is not. It didn't even keep the relations with the lines. Like if I had a square, I now have 4 independent lines other than sharing corners. What's more, it gets rid of overlapping lines, so if I want to keep two adjacent shapes as selectable contours I have to separate and delete segments, connect the open segment to itself and make them collinear again.

The issue arose because I realized I need to show sections of a part in certain drawings but not others. Is there a quick and dirty way to do this, or do I have to basically trace everything again?

Also, even if deleting individual lines in a drawing is possible, it is not a viable option in this situation.

And what is the point of the "create a sketch from selected" feature if it does not keep relations?

• Re: make sketch from selected feature
          Sarah Dwight

I don't really understand what you are doing, and I haven't ever used "Create sketch from selections", but if you want to make a sketch from a sketch, that is fully defined by the original sketch, then use Convert Entities.

Are you drawing an assembly?

If so, you can RMB the properties in each view to hide certain components... see below.

Dan Pihlaja

Brian Sanner wrote: