4 Replies Latest reply on May 15, 2018 9:07 AM by Bjorn Hulman

Uneditable duplicate of editable title block note

Liam Elliott

Hi,  I'm relatively new to Solidworks and trying to put togther some drawing templates and borders etc, I'm most of the way there, but there is one issue I can't seem to solve.  Our company title block has the drawing No in top left and bottom right corners, I want to put a title block note in the bottom right that can be edited from the normal drawing view/edit screen, with a duplicate note in the sheet template on the top left which can't be directly edited but automatically updates to the one in the bottom right.  I want to link or slave it to the editable one bottom right, but i can't see a way of doing that other than tying it to a custom property, but then as far as i know, you can only have 1 drawing No per drawing file without multiple property entries ?  Perhaps someone could offer some experienced wisdom on this ?

Cheers.

• Re: Uneditable duplicate of editable title block note
          Bjorn Hulman

Hi Liam,

I'd be inclined to link both to a custom property, either in the drawing file, or linked directly to the part/assembly. Personally I'd link it directly to the 3D.

I would also recomend you use the custom property tab to add this information into the drawing or 3D custom properties to streamline your workflow.

https://www.javelin-tech.com/blog/2017/04/solidworks-custom-property-tab-builder/

PS,

If you want to do multi-page drawings with each page identified by the part number of the part on it, link the part number text on the sheet to $PRPSHEET:"Part Number" and ensure this that in the document properties> drawing sheets that 'Use custom property from this sheet on all sheets' is unchecked.

Then each sheet will use the part number of the model of the first view you drop on it.

Liam Elliott