10 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2018 8:48 AM by Hector Molina

Initiate point command in a sketch vba

Hector Molina

Hello Everyone,

Thank you for reading my question, your interest, and help is greatly appreciated. I am new to VBA, new to programming actually, and I am trying to figure things out.

I need to have the user put a sketch point on a face, but have not been successful.

The goal is to create a custom made hole on a part, I have searched the help/web and found good examples of code (Big thanks to all the people who have made their code available to assist others), and have been able to start the macro, pause, and wait for the user to click a face on a part, insert a sketch, and that's as far as I get. At this point I want to start the point command for the user, I figure, why have them click the point icon when I can get that done for them. I can't find a way to do that. All examples I find work by preselecting the face, or plane to sketch on. Even when I record a macro, I have to preselect the face before running it, to get the point in place. Could you please point me in the right direction?

Thank you for your help,

Hector

• Re: Initiate point command in a sketch vba
          Deepak Gupta

I'm not on the system but check RunCommand method but you must have a plane/surface selected for a 2d sketch. in case you need 3d sketch, then no selection would be required.

Nilesh Patel

Hi Hector,

You mentioned that you would like to create a custom hole and what is the reason to create a sketch point. Could you explain your end goal in detail? This will help us guide you in right direction.

Regards,

Nilesh

Hector Molina

Hi Nilesh,

Thank you for your interest, and taking the time to ask. My description is not clear, I intended it to be concise, but it is not really representative of what I mean to accomplish.