15 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2018 8:42 AM by Kevin Chandler

Suggestion: How to design this component

Alberto Silingardi

Hello,

I'm new to Solidworks, it's almost a month that I started working with it for my final project at the University. While it was easy to me to design using Sketches and 3D sketches easy parts I found two difficulties that I would like to share with you.

Teledyne_RDI_Sentinel_ADCP.jpg

This is the sensor I would like to design for a very easy early stage of a conceptual design: How would you manage to sketch and extrudes the red holes? I don't know how to manage to cut extrudes working in the body of the cylinder I extruded before.

Kind regards.

Albert

• Re: Suggestion: How to design this component
          Glenn Schroeder

The red holes will be the easy part when you get to that point.  Can you post what you have so far?  You'll be much more likely to get help here if you show at least some initial effort.  Please see Can someone help me with my school assignment?.

Ruben Rodolfo Balderrama

Attach your file always buddy....it doesn't has any trouble for make your design do able

Francisco Martínez

I would like to pass on a tip my teacher gave me when I was new, do not use 3d sketches. I thought he was just being short with me but as I have learned more in solidworks I have found all the parts I used to try to make with a 3d sketch i can make 1000x easier with normal sketches, planes and features.

You can draw your second part right on top of your first part, use the face as the sketching plane.

Alberto Silingardi

Thank you evereybody fot the replies,

tomorrow I will continue to try hard and I will find a way to succeed in it. Anyway I'd like to ask you how could you manage to sketch over a curvilinear surface.

If I do open Solidworks, design a circle and extrude it for a particular lenght then I would be just able to continue to work on the top and the bottom area but not on the cylindrical one.