12 Replies Latest reply on May 14, 2018 3:53 PM by Greg Hertvik

SolidWorks Sheet Metal

Joseph Sarhadian

Hi.

I started learning about SolidWorks Sheet Metal, so I'm a bit confused about Base Flange feature in SolidWorks. Attached are the details of the part I supposed to create. I don't see any info about "Bend Allowance" or "K-Factor". What value am I suppose to enter?

Thank you

• Re: SolidWorks Sheet Metal
          Dennis Bacon

Since the question is asking for the mass of the part (not the flat pattern) you can use anything that doesn't break the model. A good enough value for the k-factor would be just about anything (0-1). Go with ~.5

Edit:... Further on down there is a question that requires you to flatten the part and does supply a value for the k-factor.

Joseph Sarhadian

Dennis,

It's absolutely correct. K-factor or bend allowance have zero effect on the mass I got all the values right!

Thank you,

Dennis Dohogne

Joseph Sarhadian wrote:

Dennis,

It's absolutely correct. K-factor or bend allowance have zero effect on the mass I got all the values right!

Thank you,

This is not true for all cases and should be clarified.

Since the K-factor or bend allowance will affect the flat pattern the mass of the flat pattern will most certainly be affected.  However, for the finished part the K-factor or bend allowance is not used by the software, therefore the mass of the finished part is not affected.  It must be noted then that the finished part does not take into consideration the compression of material at the inside of the bends, nor the stretching of the material on the outside of the bends.  As a result the finished part will likely have a greater mass than the flat part.

I just verified this with a simple right angle flange: 50mm legs, 25mm wide, 1mm thick (inside), 1.5mm IBR

Mass in bent state = 19.38g, Volume = 2453.54 mm^3 (regardless of K-factor)

Flattened with 0.4 K-factor:  Mass = 19.35g, Vol = 2449.61 mm^3