8 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2018 9:58 PM by Paul Salvador

Importing multiple obj files, combining

Matthias Buehler

Hi all,

I'm brand new with SolidWorks 2018, evaluating it at the moment.

I'm not yet familiar with parts and assemblies, so please bear with me.

I have a few obj files (each closed and nicely watertight) that I'd like to import and once imported next to each other, combine them into a new solid.

How do I need to load each obj? There's so many settings and a few older tutorials I found that are all a bit confusing.

Any input welcome.

Thanks,

matt

• Re: Importing multiple obj files, combining
          Steven Mills

Not that hard, just 'import' or 'open' it as a normal file. The tricky part is making sure it's how you want it, like it actually being a solid instead of a bunch surfaces. Being at least somewhat familiar with surface tools should help. Also you can force the feature tree to always show a count of how many surface and solid bodies a part has.

After you import a file - Double check the import to see if it's a solid. If not, knit any surfaces into one surface object with no gaps, then fill in to make a solid. If you want to make a true assembly, remember to save each imported part into it's own part file.

In general that is the best advice I can give you.

Matthias Buehler

Hi.

thanks for the inputs.

I made 2 cubes and imported them as 2 parts, then made an assembly. The cubes are deliberatly overlapping as I want to specifically test the result of this.

But I'm now not able to find the combine tool. Are the cubes of the wrong type? Hmm.

Cheers,

m.

overlappingCubes.JPG

Paul Salvador

Hello Matthias,..  odds are, you will have issues with accuracy (ztg) and instability combining using polygon (obj, stl, wrl,..) imports.

***Although, I do not have or use the Mesh tools (Scan to 3D) .. maybe someone can chime in and suggest a way to merged polygon bodies?