36 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2018 4:44 PM by Rick Becker

Im not understanding what relations are

Matt Thomas

Ello all. New student here:)

Today is my first day ever using solid works. I am a full time engineering student taking a 50 hour lab course for solid works. I am following the following publication:

SolidWorks 2015 Part 1 - Basic Tools By: Paul Tran

I am on chapter 3, my first sketch. Where i am having an issue, the book does not really explain what auto relations are. I understand to a point what relations are, IE, if i select 4 horizontal lines, set one line to a specific dimm, then the other 3 will follow.

But what are auto relations? My drawing has about 15 of these little boxes that show verticle or horizontal lines.

thanks

• Re: Im not understanding what relations are
          J. Mather

Vertical or Horizontal - cannot be changed.  Is what it is.  (and Tangent, and Co-linear, and Concentric.. ...basic geometry)

Where is your instructor?

Can you attach your *.sldprt file here?

Kevin Chandler

Hello,

Perhaps you know this already, but on the SW Help menu, select the tutorials menu.

Pick one and work through it. Rinse. Lather. Repeat.

There's many avenues that will get you to the same destination, but the tutorials will let you work at your own pace and you can pick up some terminology along the way.

Good luck,

Kevin

P.S.: Remember when things are going a little funky on the SW comprehension, that everyone else in here has been in your spot.

So persevere.

Search the forum too. Much knowledge is on store here (click the magnifying glass in the upper right).

Glenn Schroeder