17 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2018 12:36 PM by Rubén Rodolfo Balderrama

Sketch orientation

S. Leacox

Hello. I am new to solid works, but many years using CAD.

I am making assembly driven sheet metal. One of the first things that I am wondering how to control is Making the parts coordinate system the same as the assembly coordinate system.

The assembly was started with a default setup. A "Y-up" assembly.

When I make part inside that assembly, the parts are "Z-up" because the sketchs to start the parts were made on planes parallel to the assembly "Front" plane (plan view for Y up).

If I switch my starting assembly to Z-up, will I have the same problem or will it solve the problem?

---------

Second question:

Is there a way to pick the default rotation of "Normal to sketch view" Assume the sketch is 90 degrees clock or counter clock to the perspective desired for sketching.

• Re: Sketch orientation
          Wing Hoe Tan

Hi

If you need to ensure that the part coordinate system aligns with the assembly's, upon inserting new part, you should click anywhere in space instead of on an entity. This will ensure that the new part shares the same origin and orientation as the assembly.

As for the default rotation of the sketch view, the only way would be to redefine the standard views. Or you can save out the view that you need and revert to it when you are doing the sketching.

Brian Brazeau

If you drop it anywhere in space the orientation will be the same, but the origin will be random based on where in the workspace you drop it. Tile the windows(part and assembly)  and drag and drop the part on the feature tree of the assembly. the orientation will be the same and the origins will be coincident.

Wing Hoe Tan