20 Replies Latest reply on Apr 24, 2018 10:00 AM by Rick Becker

Tell me if I'm crazy!

Mark Jackson

Maybe I'm working in too many different 3D applications, but I could have sworn I used to be able to hold down the mouse wheel and rotate around the center of the environment. It rotates around the camera selected and I'd prefer to rotate around the center of the environment.

Using SolidWorks CAD as the navigation mode in Options.

• Re: Tell me if I'm crazy!
          Dave Goetsch

You know the answer....    Yes, you are Crazy Mark....  

Dave Goetsch

And what are you doing using a Mouse for navigation? I know you've said you're not much of a CADD Guy but a few service packs ago Visualize added full support for 3DConnexion Space Mice. It works Wonderful ! Now that you have your new GPU's you should look into a 3D Mouse. I've been using them for about 35 years (CADD and many other 3D programs) and I won't work without one. It will speed up your workflow like you won't believe. In a very short time it becomes second nature to manipulate your scene, move parts, etc...

Not harping on you at all, just a suggestion because I know how much they increase your speed while working in Visualize or any other 3D application. I swear by them and encourage everyone I know who isn't using one to get one. I remember you use Blender too and Blender (and many other programs) can use the 3DConnexion Space mouse too.

Side Note: In the far distant past they used to be called SpaceBalls in the AeroSpace industry. I used them with several different UNIX Workstations. H.P. 9000's, Silicon Graphics Indigo, SUN SPARCStations, IBM IntelliStations, and maybe even on an old DEC VAX. The first SpaceBalls were developed to control the Articulating Arm (by Astronauts) on the NASA Space Shuttles.

Capture.PNG