58 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2018 1:59 PM by Rick McDonald

Can I peruse work in sold works?

Bryce Beaumont

So, I've heard it is possible to get work online in Solidworks. I am a computer science student looking for a flexible way to work online around the school.
      I earned a CSWA certificate 2 years ago, and haven't done anything with it since. Outside of a one-semester course, I took at a community college to get the certificate I have no experience, and I can't honestly say I'm super confident in my abilities, although I'm pretty sure I can pick up new skills quickly.

1) Is it viable for a person like me to get freelance work online?
      2) What websites should I use to look?
      3) I have not purchased sold works yet, and am wondering if it's a good idea to make the investment, what version should I buy?
      4) How much should I charge?
      Thank you for any and all information.

• Re: Can I peruse work in sold works?
          Wayne Schafer

Your not going to be doing freelance work with a student license.  Which is fairly cheap.  A SW license is going to cost you around 8K or so.  That may be a bit much.

Christopher Culver

I'm going to come right out and say it and hope you don't take offense, after one semester of Solidworks, and no formal or practical engineering, manufacturing, or design experience, you will have a lot of trouble finding a way to make money using it. I admire your ambition, but I'd delve a lot deeper into researching just how people actually make money using solidworks, or any CAD software really.

good luck.

M. D.

I would recommend getting a free 3D CAD software, and using that to do freelance work.  You can also look for work as a Mechanical Drafter as you get experience with the free 3D cad.

Richard Gergely

Without at least 3 years of real work CAD experience I don't think it is even a slight option to go freelance.

J. Mather

What is the url to your ePortfolio?