14 Replies Latest reply on Apr 11, 2018 1:38 PM by Mark Fitzpatrick

Anyone get this frequently?

Mark Fitzpatrick

See attached...more lost work...

• Re: Anyone get this frequently?
          Walter Fetsch

Usually, when I get the 'not responding' error, it is resolved by being patient.  SW has made a large demand of the processor and if I wait for it to complete, it usually does.

Mark Fitzpatrick

Yeah that doesn't happen to me much. Just the waiting and eventual shut down. Suppose to move up to the 2017 version. Can't wait to see what that brings.

Walter Fetsch

Whoa!  Wait for 2018, 2017 has been a reliability disaster.  I have been using SW since 2002 and have literally found more bugs in 2017 than in all versions that I have used since 2002 combined.

Mark Fitzpatrick

I've only been using it since 2010 and since we don't update every year we have only used three versions and I'd say all are equally as bad as the next.

Dan Golthing

Its funny how Russian Roulette SWX is.  I am having MUCH more success with 2017-2018 than with 2016, which was my nemesis!

Todd Blacksher

Walter Fetsch wrote:

Whoa! Wait for 2018, 2017 has been a reliability disaster. I have been using SW since 2002 and have literally found more bugs in 2017 than in all versions that I have used since 2002 combined.

I'm guessing that Mark Fitzpatrick might have to hold off on 2018 due to the new server requirements for network licensing (I could be mistaken) - Going to 2017 SP5.0 would still be a huge improvement over 2015.

I'm not sure if the "delay" before showing the "Not Responding" message has been decreased, but I used to see it a little more frequently as well, just clicking "Wait for program to respond" usually worked for me.

I guess it just depends on what you are doing - it could seem very minor to you, but could very well be a processor intensive operation.

Mark Fitzpatrick