AnsweredAssumed Answered

SolidWorks Elite Application Engineer: which are the advantages of become one?

Question asked by Salvador Suniaga on Mar 26, 2018
Latest reply on Mar 26, 2018 by Philip Downing

First of all, I would like to give you a little context.

I'm an Application Engineer working at a small VAR in South America. I have been working there for 3 and a half years. In this experience, I have noticed that if I want to advance in my professional career I have these possibilities:

1) Become the head of my department.
2) Go to the sales department.
3) Wait for SolidWorks or Dassault Systemes to hire me someday.
4) Become a SolidWorks Elite Engineer.
5) Leave the VAR and work as an independent professional or maybe for another company.

The technical team of my VAR consists of 4 people. We recently named one of them as Team Leader, so I would already rule out the first option. On the other hand, although I'm good at presales, I'm a person with a hard technical profile, so I would rule out the second option too. The third option also seems unlikely, taking into account that in my region there are many application engineers who share that hope.

Then I have two options left.

I know how valued SolidWorks certified designers are regarding design and simulation in industry. However, I suspect that the SolidWorks Elite award is very little known in industry. If this is true, and if I already reached a glass ceiling in my office (where I will not be able to get promoted or earn more money even if I'm totally certified), what advantages would a SolidWorks Elite have?