26 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2018 12:08 PM by Ryan Dark

Solidworks locks up during simulation.

Josh Barnett

Good afternoon all,

First post since joining, so let me introduce myself. My name is Josh and I work for an Engineering Firm in South Florida. I am a novice/intermediate solidworks user, I took a class in college back in 2012, and also have a semester's worth of ANSYS experience.

Nice to meet you all.

Running SW2018 w/ professional simulation. 3.4ghz i7 but only 8gb ram(*for now)

My problem is, I am running a simulation of wind pressure around a large generator enclosure(~230+ parts), I have spent a few hours today on this new model, from fixing everything from interference issues, meshing, etc.

I am now trying to run the analysis, but as soon as I click the button to run it, a few minutes pass, and the files(.CWR? and .NOD?) update in the folder then after about 5 min the software locks up, and windows explorer asks me if i want to wait or close the program. I click wait, and the NOD file updates. I am now about 30 min into staring at a slightly grayed out screen.

But I do not see a analysis progress bar or anything. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Let me know if this is unclear...or more information is needed.

Thanks for the help in advance!!

• Re: Solidworks locks up during simulation.
          Ryan Dark

Hi Josh,