3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 22, 2018 10:47 AM by William McFaul

Can you curve a flat assembly?

Kris Fricker

I'm a graduate student new to Solidworks and I'm working on reconstructing an ancient Roman warship for some materials tests.  I figured it would be faster to assemble the hull flat and then curve it to suit my needs (as opposed to making dozens of unique pieces) but now I'm not sure how to get the assembly into the shape I want.  Any suggestions or advice would be much appreciated!  I've included a side view of the half I've assembled and a photo of the shape I need (much like a wine glass).

The flat port side assemblage from keel to top wale:

Solidworks Flat.PNG

The approximate shape I need to conform the assemblage to:

midship crosssection of ship.png

• Re: Can you curve a flat assembly?
          Dave Bear

Hi Kris,

Ideally, parts created in SolidWorks are best done as they would be created in real life. I'm guessing that once you 'curve' this to the shape of the hull, you'll also need to 'curve' it from the bow to the stern. You stated you are a graduate student, did a instructor tell you to do it this way?

Did you contemplate using surfaces?

Dave.

Kris Fricker

Dave Bear

Thanks for your comment!  I am a grad student but I don't really have an instructor for this--I'm an archaeologist, not an engineer or designer and my professors can't really assist me.  I have just enough background in this area to get myself into trouble, but not quite enough knowledge to figure out all my problems on my own!  I was building this flat with plans to curve it later based off vague suggestions from a local engineer, she was originally assisting me on the project, but I haven't been able to contact her in several weeks (I think she moved to Canada?) so I just decided to figure it out on my own.  I've spent the past day or two learning Solidworks basics and figuring out how to mate everything properly, but I have no idea where to go from here.