43 Replies Latest reply on Jul 19, 2018 12:30 PM by Bart Brejcha

Switched from Creo to Solidworks

Satish B.

Hi all,

Am new to solidworks, previously I was using Creo software, all I miss about creo is creating coordinate system freedom and options available in creo where as in solidworks has no such options??? Often I feel bad because whenever I updated some primary sketches the solidworks child features failed instead of taking or replacing the reference we had given really I feel like creo is far superior than solidworks except few things which I really likes in solidworks is that 3D sketching

• Re: Switched from Creo to Solidworks
          Roland Schwarz

I relied heavily on coordinate systems when I was a Pro/E(Creo) user. One of the biggest things I miss. That and trajpar.

3D sketches can provide a workable-but-cumbersome substitute. Sometimes temporary surface or solid structures do the trick when datum planes and axes don.

Paul Salvador

Hello Satish.. I will agree (bcuz I really liked using pro/e/wf/creo).. but, I digress... can you please post a file which can better show/compare this want/need,.. so, everyone can better understand and possibly give/show some advice/workarounds?  Thanks.

Carrie Ives

One thing to keep in mind, the best way of doing something in Creo may not be the best way to do it in SolidWorks. You may have to do something completely different to get the same results. Keep in mind that Creo and SolidWorks "think differently".

Here are a couple of things that helped me feel like I was finally getting control in SolidWorks.

Get used to showing and hiding your SolidWorks sketches and relating things back to the sketches. This will help you build stable models. Where in Creo, you would have constrained something to a face, try to constrain it back to one of your sketches if you can. This will help a lot.