8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2009 5:54 PM by Jose Eduardo Fernandes de Camargo

Frequency analysis

Devi Prasad Samal
      Hi all,

i am very new to cosmos proffesional. although i have done some basic , i have some doubt regarding frequency.

actually we know there is chances of collapsing in resonance frequency. if we want to know what is the resonant frequency of a part. then just use restraints and run study.

then we get resonance frequency value according which we have set in properties ( how many no of frequency to be calculated).

i want to know which is the required frequency in between all calculated value?

for me this is just a basic question. i want to understand how to calculate the resonant frequency at which the part fails.

if i am asking some wrong question please clarify my doubts.
        • Frequency analysis
          Devi Prasad Samal
          Hi,

I have got ideas why frequency analysis?
          how to do?

and lots of other things.

but still one doubt... if 1st frequency is the required frequency...what about the others?
            • Frequency analysis
              Ameer Chilakala
              Frequency analysis will be useful to predict the mode shapes of the structures. From the software we will get the natural freqencies, at that particular frequency how the structure is going to move. this is the output we are expecting from the natural frequency analysis. most of people will tell you, the first mode is the fundamental natural frequency or resonant frequency. If we are not applying any constriant to the structure means we need to neglect the first six natural frequencies i.e. rigid body modes, then we need to consider from the 7th mode.

we need to design the system, under operating conditions, the natural frequency should be less than the first natural frequency under free vibrations.

• Frequency analysis
                  Devi Prasad Samal