11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2018 1:14 PM by Rob Rodríguez

Texture mapping multiple parts

Loren Swensen

Hi Visualize users,

I've been using Visualize for a few months now and one thing is really bugging me. When I apply a appearance to multiple parts and go to edit the texture mapping it prompts "Select a single part to edit its texture mapping. " I have never rendered a model that I have wanted to have a different scale for the texture on different parts. If its paint, the paint should be uniform. If its wood, the grain should be uniform. I don't know why Visualize doesn't have an option to select all parts when changing texture mapping.

Is there a way to make the texture scale the same scale on all parts without having to manually go in and change the texture scale on every part? This get time consuming when I have a model with lots of parts. If their is not a way to change the scale on all parts at the same time, is their at least a way to change the world scale so its at least easier to set everything manually?

• Re: Texture mapping multiple parts
          Chris Cunningham

I think what you are looking for is the "Tile" slider. It is under bump or specular.

Loren Swensen

When I change Tile under Bump it does unify the texture scale on different parts. It seems to scale the texture fine, but the scale between my parts are different.  Under texture mapping- transform-scale all, the value is still different. I still have to adjust texture mapping part by part.  All the black pieces are the same appearance, but you can see that the texture of one part is scaled up significantly.

Tom Morton

I've been having exactly the same problem....  Did you get anywhere with this?

Scott Ellery

This is where it can be a good idea to duplicate a material to apply it to specific parts and scale each texture individually per part until you get your desired look in your render

Tom Morton