31 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2018 9:58 AM by X. Liu

XNurbs - further investigations

Kevin Quigley

Following on fron the original Xnurbs thread - I thought I was perhaps being a bit unfair in not properly reviewing what this offers. The other thread got a bit out of hand so I decided to install it (on SolidWorks 2018 SP0.1) and run it through a couple of typical types of jobs we do -and where we have had issues with SolidWorks own surfacing commands.

One of the problems with the way the XNurbs guys presented the other thread was to show it as a glorified Fill Surface tool working on complex patches. This has merits in many situations (I mean, who here has never used Fill to get them out of a hole occasionally). But as a product designer I knew that this is a kind of irrelevent example for design phase surfacing. We always set up curves - the curves define the form.

So I set up a form based on a medical product we are working on right now, and did a comparison.

xnurbs1.JPG

So excuse the snipping tool mouse text, but the above is typical of a set up - curves (always splines not lines and arcs), define the form, helper surfaces at the centre line (this form is symmetrical) and at the split line - taking off at 2 degrees draft.

So the above shows the X nurbs surface - which was very easy to pick and select the edges of surfaces and curves. There are actually two Xnurbs in this - the main surface and the front capping surface.

The next one below shows the SolidWorks Boundary Surface - with exactly the same inputs. I have sectioned the part to show the differences, and mirrored the Xnurb surface for clarity.

surfae1.JPG