AnsweredAssumed Answered

Best Workflow for Large Assemblies: Multi-Body Part/Weldment inserted into assembly vs. Multi-Body Part broke out into parts using various master modeling methods?

Question asked by Michael Bechtolt on Feb 5, 2018
Latest reply on Feb 12, 2018 by Elmar Klammer

Hello Everyone!

I'm relatively new to this whole forum posting thing and to the Soildworks community, so any comments on how to properly format a discussion would be greatly appreciated!

As the title implied, I'm looking for some advise on the best modeling workflow for my current situation.

I recently started working for a company that is trying to covert their product lines from auto-cad to Solidworks.

The company sells custom Concrete Batching Plants. These Plants consist of (large/multiple) Structural/Sheet metal sub-assemblies.

Each major sub-assembly consists of some bent sheet metal parts that need to fit together a certain way and usually at odd angles. This has caused the need to use top-down modeling. We are in the process of trying to come up best modeling approach to model each major sub-assembly. All of our end product is custom, but we do have a base product that we work from and each major sub-assembly can have multiple "standard options". When focusing on just one major sub-assembly, we would like to to set up these options up so they can be driven by one model or have multiple assemblies set up (for each option/configuration) and be able to drive a part change through all the standard options.

Here is a picture of the plant as a whole and a picture of a major sub-component for reference.LP327S  10790-L.JPGBatcher.png

We have quickly found out that regular in-context modeling was not going to work for us because we could not use the same in-context components in different assemblies.

We are now considering two different methods for modeling a "major component" and its "standard options".