32 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2018 2:15 PM by Josh Brady

Bottom blue line

Daniel Filote

Hi,

I am new to solidworks, an ex Creo user.

I was just wondering if it's possible to move that bottom blue line in an assembly. I used to call that an "insert line" in creo. I know I can move it in a part, but I don't know why I can't move it on an assembly as well.

can anyone help me with that?

thank you,

Daniel

• Re: Bottom blue line
          Glenn Schroeder

Welcome to the forum.  In an Assembly, as you add features, such as sketches, planes, Linear Component Patterns, etc, they will be placed below where you see Mates in your screenshot.  The blue line will move down with them.  Then you'll be able to move it to suppress those features, but you can't drag it any higher than where it is now.  If you want it higher (and I sometimes do), just Shift+select the components above it and suppress them.  I know that's not a perfect solution but I believe it's the best one available.

Bob Van Dick

Glenn,

I didn't realize that line couldn't be moved in an assembly.  What's the point in having it?

Bob

Glenn Schroeder

Bob Van Dick wrote:

Glenn,

I didn't realize that line couldn't be moved in an assembly. What's the point in having it?

Bob

As I said above, you can move it, but you can only move it up until you get to "Mates".  I use it often to suppress Linear Patterns when mating components to make sure I don't mate them to components that were inserted with Linear Patterns, since this has caused me instability issues in the past.  I frequently have 10 or more patterns in an Assembly.  It also helps if there are errors, since I can drag the bar up, and then back down to un-suppress them one at a time to diagnose and fix the errors.

Bob Van Dick