6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2018 2:27 PM by Greg Mitchell

Mating 2 cyilnders perpendicular to each other causes errors/fails. I was able to do this in SW 2005, but fails in 2016-2018. Verified by VAR

Greg Mitchell

Greetings,

Hello all.

I worked as a SW designer from 2003 - 2013. During that time, I often designed frames and guarding consisting of extruded aluminum. Most of the material was from Maytec in Germany, but these days there are nearly a dozen worldwide suppliers of similar products. Maytec specifically recommended and endorsed what they called a "Standard Connector" or "Universal Connector". This part consists of a round, mushroom shaped shaft that fits into a larger cylinder at a perpendicular angle. There is a threaded fastener fit into the larger cylinder. This fastener tightens into a cammed groove that tightens the "mushroom" against 2 faces, forming a strong but adjustable connection. Anyone who has used aluminum extrusion in solidworks will have seen this component.

Center_connector_error_sw2016_SS02.PNG

Here is my issue. As shown in the image, installing the connector should require only 2 mates. One for the shaft to the centerline of the extrusion, the other to the machined counter-bore at a right-angle. In earlier versions of Solidworks I was able to create a smart component that dramatically decreased the time required to add these components. Now, using SW 2016, I cannot even create the 2 required mates. The first mate, centerline to shaft, works. The second mate, Cylinder to C-bore fails.

Center_connector_error_sw2016.PNG