5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2009 10:08 AM by 19109

Mixed Mesh Troubles

Brendan L
      Hello all,
      I am new to using CosmosWorks (at least still green behind the ears) and I am trying to use a mixed mesh study. I am creating a wing with solid meshed structural components and a shell meshed wing skin. However, when I mesh and run the Cosmosworks, the skin and the structural components aren't interacting. I have globally bonded setup. I am at a loss as to what to do next to solve this issue

Brendan
        • Mixed Mesh Troubles
          For the globally bond setup to actually bond the two together the the skin and the structural components have to have face to face contact. You may have to create contact sets between the components.
            • Mixed Mesh Troubles
              Why face to face only? It should work also with a border of a surface in contact with a face of a solid. I have some cases in which this work, and other ones in which it does not work and I do not know why. And if I attempt to create such a contact set I cannot because it is not posssible t select a border in the proper property manager.
              The documentation for 2009 Sp2.0 claims that the software sets automatically the contacts between solids, shells and beams. I believe that for beams this is definetely false. Moreover if I create a contact group beam/surface and the surface is not planar the program says (at resolution time!) that this is not allowed.
              For contacts shell/solid (over a border) I observe an erratical behaviour: sometimes this works and sometimes not.
              Anybody knows some more detailed and reliable documentation?
              Thanks
              Leonardo Presciuttini
            • Mixed Mesh Troubles
              From the Simulation Help file.