10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2018 3:05 PM by Stavros Smith

Best way to check in an assembly in Solidworks PDM?

Ari Arponen

OK, we just got our pdm up and running. But I am new with Solidworks PDM (Have previous experience from SolidPDM). So if I open an assembly in SW I want to check in into vault, what is the best way to check it in? Or can I just copy and paste it with all parts and drawings into vault via Explorer?

• Re: Best way to check in an assembly in Solidworks PDM?
          Stavros Smith

If you are referring to checking in files already existing in the vault either right click--> Check in  from the vault view or using the PDM add-in in SW.

If you are trying to import files from outside PDM, I would go with pack and go.

Ari Arponen

Stavros Pantelakis kirjoitti:

....If you are trying to import files from outside PDM, I would go with pack and go....

Yes. So it is valid and approved as working method? Great thanks.

Michael Dekoning

If you use Pack and Go, you need to be careful that you do not add duplicate files to your vault. With SOLIDWORKS PDM the local vault view is also the working directory. After migration, you should create new files in the vault, not outside of it.

Paul Wyndham

Only use "Pack and Go" when moving an assembly into the vault. Once the files are in the vault always use the "Copy Tree" or "Move Tree" tools. If you are going to copy something out of the vault use "Copy Tree". If you open a part and drawing I would suggest that you use save as to put them in the vault.