19 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2018 2:48 PM by Michael Dekoning

Advise to New PDM Pro Install

Brian Poelman

Our company has recently decided to proceed with purchasing SW PDM Pro (to date we've been just doing manual revision control and working direct over network and have decided that is not sustainable for our future growth). We will start implementation with our VAR in early 2018. As we have no experience with SW PDM prior to this, I'm wondering if the community can give us any general advise for the implementation of PDM Pro, things to watch for, common rookie mistakes, etc.

Any and all advise would be very appreciated.

• Re: Advise to New PDM Pro Install
          Matt Peneguy

Brian,

I am by no means a PDM expert, but I think you will get much better targeted advice if you include some more details.  I could give you advice on what works for us, but we have 4 active users, with a potential of about 7 concurrent users.  So, our needs are very minimal.

If you are looking for some general advice I'd recommend visiting Javelin's website and perusing their PDM videos.  I'm sure you will learn a lot there.  I used their WPDM videos to set up our WPDM Server and configure our user settings.  It is definitely a good start, and it is free.

https://www.javelin-tech.com/blog/?s=pdm

Brian Poelman

Thanks for the feedback Matt. I'll look into their PDM videos.

As for what we're looking for in PDM, our primary objectives are:

-Automated revision control of SW files (parts, assemblies, and drawings)

-Secure vault with local copies to increase SW performance (rebuild and load times)

-Workflows to automate PDF creation, document approvals, etc.

Matt Peneguy

Your VAR should be helping you with the first two, at a minimum.  And the workflows are going to be dependent on your organization.  The good news is that since you are going with Pro, you will definitely have some active help available.