4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2017 6:57 PM by Dale Dell'Ario

Is Flow pro an effective tool for thermal behavior prediction of LED lamp (bulbs) design alternatives?

Dale Dell'Ario

We are a small startup considering the purchase of Flow Pro (without the electronics package) to help choose between and optimize a few different design approaches I have already modeled in SolidWorks 2016. I have no FEM experience. The purchase price represents what is for us a very large purchase, and I need to become proficient enough and have meaninful results in a matter of days. There is a two 1/2 day training in two weeks with our local VAR I can get in on.  I have built several real world prototypes via 3D printing. I am designing a family of lamps to fit in a variety of fixtures with a variety of orientations and over time we will likely develop other form-factor lamps. I'd like to hear from any users in simiilar applications about easy of learning, ease of use, and accuracy of results. I've watched a number of videos and spoken to one local engineer who uses Flow for fluid flow problems and thinks very highly of it. He is the only reference my VAR can provide, Thanks in advance for your opinions, experience!  -Dale

• Re: Is Flow pro an effective tool for thermal behavior prediction of LED lamp (bulbs) design alternatives?
          Mark Keown

Dale,

Mentor makes Flow Simulation for SW - purchased from Mentor it is called Flo EFD. Flo EFD has an LED module - but you will pay a bit more for the software.  You can get the same solution with Flow Simulation with a few more steps.

https://www.mentor.com/products/mechanical/floefd/options

For your initial design I would recommend making thermal resistor networks for the solution (using MS excel).  This will let you know if you are in the ball park in seconds and is easier to see where the problem areas are than CFD results.   With a resistor network 'concept' then move to CFD.