7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2017 9:15 AM by Michael Van Dorp

Graphic card compatibility

Elliott Hanlon

Laptop spec: Is the NVIDIA GeForce GTX1050 2GB graphics card compatible with solidworks? I am on the market for a new laptop of under £1000 as i am a student, is there anything you would recommend when buying? I have been looking at this laptop, ASUS ROG Strix GL753 Gaming Laptop - Laptops at Ebuyer  is this something that would be capable of running general solidworks. I wont be running massive documents but I need it to be able to run sw and other photo rendering programs at the same time.

Thanks

• Re: Graphic card compatibility
          Dave Bear

Hi Elliott,

Firstly let me start by saying that the general consensus (proven) is that 'gaming' spec computers (graphics) are not that suited to CAD and vice-versa, so steer away from a gaming spec computer. There is a lot of information in this forum on this subject as well as suitable PC's and laptops that you can find easily find by using the search magnifying glass which is at the top right-hand corner of your screen and using the appropriate keywords to search by.

Also, you can check out specs and compatibility here..... Hardware & System Requirements | Support | SOLIDWORKS

This should get you started at least........

Dave.

Elliott Hanlon

Hi Dave,

Thanks for your response.