10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2017 4:48 AM by Lee Henderson

Decal advice

Lee Henderson

Hello all, a few small queries I would like help with.

I'm new to decals (in both Solidworks and Visualize) however I'm concentrating on Visualize 2018 at the moment. I'm trying to fit a decal I've created into a recess in a panel. I've allowed a couple of mm tolerance between the recess and the decal size (decal is 2mm smaller all round). I realise I can manipulate the decal with the part selection tool but is there a way of accurately positioning it other than zooming in as close as I possibly can and just "eyeballing it" until it looks right? (which is what I've done in the attached screen grab).

Also I have established from reading on the forum that PNG files are the format of choice for decals. You can see on my attached image that the decal appears to be almost opaque, however the background should be bright white. I have used Adobe Illustrator to create my PNG and have tried various incarnations of PNG, transparent background, white background, anti aliased etc etc however I still get the same outcome? Could anyone suggest a possible solution to this? Or both ideally

• Re: Decal advice
          John Stoltzfus

I have almost always created a part the same size as my decal and added a jpeg file to the surface and then I edit the appearance of the picture to adjust the mapping till it fits the part.  Then I would add the part (decal) into an assembly and mate it exactly where it needs to be, that way I can use part custom properties to automatically list the decal in the BOM.

Lee Henderson

Thanks for the reply John, sounds like I should do a bit extra in Solidworks before opening in Visualize to make my life a little easier then (at least when it comes to placing the decal accurately). Still wondering about the settings for the actual PNG to give me a bright white background..

Brian Hillner

Hi Lee,