15 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2017 1:00 PM by Matt Peneguy

Saving a title block?

Roxanne McClain

I'm a novice in SW, and dont really understand how to save a title block as a template and one that will update certain info across all the files different sheets? And Make that a template to open when I create a drawing from an assembly? I am updating every sheet individually right now, when I know there has to be an easier way.

Link to some support on setting up a title block that will update across the sheets in certain areas? Thank you.

• Re: Saving a title block?
          John Stoltzfus

Are you on 2017?

Glenn Schroeder

Hello Roxanne,

You need to be in "Edit sheet format" mode when you're setting up your title block.  After exiting that you need to save the sheet format, and then save your drawing template.  Please see #2 at Frequently Asked Forum Questions, and maybe #26 at FAQ - Part 2, to get you started.  Then please come back here and let us know how it works for you.  Don't hesitate to ask if you have more questions.  I'm about to leave for the day, but I'm sure someone else will be happy to help.

Glenn 

Andreas Rhomberg

Start with the Tutorials, this will get you the basics.

Check "Mysolidworks.com" there are many helpful lessons. create a free login with subscription.

Matt Peneguy

First off, I'd recommend you bookmark these two threads:

Frequently Asked Forum Questions

FAQ - Part 2

Now to answer your question, what you are lacking is the terminology and how everything interacts together.  It took me a while to figure everything out myself.

First off, your drawings have two levels.  There is an underlying template called the "Sheet Format" where the title block is located.  You can access and make changes to the Sheet Format by right clicking in the sheet and selecting it: