15 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2017 3:32 AM by Scott Friday

How to cut saddle joint end of nozzle pipe for weld grind?

Scott Friday

I have a pipe that comes out of a head perpendicular to the header, a basic T configuration. I am trying to model the weld for that saddle joint. It requires that the end of the pipe have a 45 degree bevel all the way around, starting with the inside face of the pipe and opening toward the outside face of the pipe. I have tried all manner of swept cuts and just can't seem to figure it out. I can't figure out how I might do it with a loft cut. I am still pretty new to Soldiworks. I have attached the 14" pipe part file. In the lower right corner is a sketch of a line showing the cut profile. I realize it is not a closed profile, I am just trying to show the angle/shape of the cut. After the cut, I don't want any material left below the line anywhere around the saddle joint. So the cut needs to follow the inside edge of the pipe.

Once I get the cut, how do I model the actual weld? It is supposed to have the 45 bevel through the pipe wall and then a 3/8 fillet from the outside of the pipe wall down to the O.D. of the header pipe. I assume it would have to be some kind of lofted boss?

• Re: How to cut saddle joint end of nozzle pipe for weld grind?
          Todd Blacksher

Scott,

I am on 2017 SP3.0, so I saved this as a parasolid file so that you will be able to open it.

Not sure if this is what you are after, but you can do a swept cut using the edge of the pipe.

Start a 3dSketch, select the edge, convert entities, close the sketch, and you will be able to use this as the path for the swept cut.

Close out the profile on your sketch, and then you can use it for the profile of the swept cut.

It may or may not be what you need, but this is an option.

todd

Matt Peneguy

This is the kind of thing I'd just handle in the drawing by pointing to the joint: