17 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2018 4:12 AM by Unspecified Unspecified

HOW TO DO FEA ON THREADS?

Evan Leftwick

I am new to FEA and I am trying to figure out how to do a simulation on threads to see if they will hold the desired weight without shearing or pulling out. I feel like the threads need to be touching to do this but I can't figure out how to mate them together or maybe there is another way?

Thanks

• Re: HOW TO DO FEA ON THREADS?
          Christian Chu

I'm not sure if this can be done by the expression version. If yes, I really want to know too

Dan Pihlaja

I am NOT an FEA person....however, I would think that you need to first make sure that the threads that you modeled are exactly what will be produced by the method of manufacturing them (thread forming / thread milling / tap, etc...).

This is VERY rarely the case.  Which is why most people don't put threads in their models anyway....just graphical representations.

Christian Chu

first make sure that the threads that you modeled are exactly what will be produced by the method of manufacturing them (thread forming / thread milling / tap, etc...).

It's not about how to model the thread correctly, it's about how the thread can stand for certain stress

I really want to perform FEA on thread using the expression version including in the SW premium, but can't figure out a way to, unless I get a full FEA package.

Just used my common sense such as coarse for aluminum or fine thread for steel and more number of engaged threads for more strength ... It's a shame but I have no tool for it ... 

Evan Leftwick

Dan,

If I can figure out how to get it to work I was going to do a stress test at LMC so I can see the worst case scenario.

Dan Pihlaja

Evan Leftwick wrote:

Dan,

If I can figure out how to get it to work I was going to do a stress test at LMC so I can see the worst case scenario.