AnsweredAssumed Answered

Get Latest Subassembly Overwrites Main Assembly

Question asked by Todd Sorel on Sep 6, 2017
Latest reply on Sep 7, 2017 by Todd Sorel

I don't quite understand what I'm doing wrong. I am using PDM Client on a fairly large assembly with a number of subassemblies in SW2017 SP2.0. It seems like whenever I get the latest version of a subassembly, it overwrites the main assembly that I have checked out. It will ask me to Save As a new file or load the version in the vault. I click "Cancel" because I don't want to do either of those things. However, it will continue to load the latest version of the subassembly AND reload the main assembly from the vault, destroying all the work I've done. If I choose "Save As" it will not allow me to save it as the same name because I have it checked out...

 

Am I supposed to save and check everything in before I "Get Latest" on subassemblies?

Outcomes